Template & Checklist Permissions

Template and checklist permissions are set within the template. These permissions allow you to control what your users can do to your templates and the checklists derived from your templates.

There are four levels of permissions on a template:

  • Edit and Run:
    • Edit the template
    • Run checklists based on the template
    • View checklists that have been created from the template
  • View and Run:
    • View (but not edit) the template
    • Run checklists based on the template
    • View checklists that have been created from the template
  • View Assigned To and Run:
    • Run checklists based on the template
    • View checklists where the user is assigned to one or more tasks
  • View Assigned To:
    • View checklists where the user is assigned to one or more tasks

How To Set Template Permissions

Open the template and click on the yellow 'Permissions' button in the top toolbar.

Permissions Button

A popup form will open where you can select users and/or groups to add and define the level of permission they have.

Default Permissions

When a new template is created we give the creator of the template and the 'All Users' group 'Edit and Run' permissions on the template.

Select the user or group you would like to permission using the drop down control. The selected user or group will then be added to the permission level section below.

Select the permssion level using the drop down control next to the name of the user or group.

Once you have set all of your permissions click the blue 'Close' button to close the permissions popup form.

Set Permissions

Permission Hierarchy

It is possible for a user to have multiple permissions.

For example, a permission could be set on the special 'All Users' group, which includes all non-guest users, and then a separate permission could be defined for the user.

In this circumstance we take the highest permission level and apply that to the user.

How To Modify Template Permissions

Modifying permissions is done in a very similar way to setting the permissions, described in the earlier section.

Open the template and click on the yellow 'Permissions' button in the top toolbar.

From the permission level section you can change the permission levels using the drop down control next to the name of the user or group.

You can also delete a permission using the red trash can button next to the permission.

How Permissions Are Applied

Permissions are immediately applied across all versions of a template.

If you make a change to the template permissions and you have active checklists in progress, those checklists will be affected immediately.

This behavior is unique to permissions. If you change any other part of a template (e.g. add a new task) a new version will be saved. The change will only apply to the latest version of the template, and any checklists derived from the new version of the template going forward.